Kentucky Special Education Cooperative Network

Address: 420 Wells Hall, Murray State University
Murray, KY 42071
Phone: (270) 809-6980 Fax: (270) 8092485 Website:'s-Edcuational-Cooperatives-Special-Education-Services.aspx

The Kentucky Special Education Cooperative Network consists of eleven (11) Special Education Cooperatives located across the state.  All 176 local school districts, and the Kentucky Schools for the Blind and Deaf are members of a special education cooperative.   The Special Education Cooperative Network is intended to assist local school districts in meeting the needs of its member districts.   Services range from technical assistance, trainings, professional development, specialized services, research and other needs identified by member districts and the Kentucky Department of Education

Big East Education Cooperative
Contact:  Jill Griffiths, Director
904 West Rose Road
Ashland, KY  41102
Phone: (606) 929-2209
The Big East Educational Cooperative is one of the eleven (11) Special Education Cooperative located across the state.

Central Kentucky Special Education Cooperative
Contact: John Beardsley, Director
2331 Fortune Drive, Ste 110
Lexington, KY  40509
Phone: (859) 402-8610
The Central Kentucky Special Education Cooperative (CKSEC) was established to provide Professional Development and Support Services that focus on relevant issues identified by the needs of its' 23 member districts and the Kentucky Department of Education. CKSEC is governed by a board of directors that represents the 23 school districts in Central Kentucky.
The board members are district superintendents or their designees from all member districts. The CKSEC staff consists of an executive director, a coordinator, behavior consultant, low incidence consultant, literacy consultant, math consultant, technology consultant, transition consultant, two teaching American history coordinators, and an administrative assistant.

Jefferson County Exceptional Child Education Services
Contact: Farryll Brown, Director
P.O. Box 34020
Louisville, KY  40232-4020
Phone: (502) 485-8500
Exceptional Child Education Programs are designed to meet the needs of the student whose approach to learning is different from that of his/her peers. The school District is committed to providing a high-quality education for the student with disabilities. A variety of programs, techniques, methods, and materials are available and utilized for individualized instruction. Exceptional Child Education programs are provided to students with disabilities in comprehensive and special education programs facilities/agencies.

Kentucky Valley Education Cooperative
J. Marvin Jolly Classroom Bldg.
One Community College Drive, Suite 107
Hazard, KY  41701
Phone: (606) 439-1119
The mission of the Kentucky Valley Educational Cooperative is to support education progress by fostering: Visionary Leadership, Positive Systemic Change, Effective Communication, Cooperation and Shared Responsibility. Fifteen local school districts comprise the membership of Kentucky Valley Special Education Cooperative (KVSEC).

Northern Kentucky Cooperative for Educational Services
Linda Alford, Director
5516 East Alexandria Pike
Cold Springs, KY  41076-3540
Phone: (859) 442-8600
NKCES is proud to support our 18 school districts located in the six county region of Northern Kentucky, as students are prepared to be Next Generation Learners in our Global Economy. NKCES provides a wide array of educational services including Special Education services, English as Second Language, Professional Development opportunities, Vocational Assessments, and Regional School Programs. In addition, support for teachers pursuing National Board Certification, as well as Leadership Networks facilitated by the Kentucky Department of Education are also provided.

Ohio Valley Educational Cooperative
R. Larry Taylor, Director
P.O. Box 1249
Shelbyville, KY  40066
Phone: (502) 647-3533, Ext. 218
The Ohio Valley Educational Cooperative (OVEC) is a consortium of 13 school districts serving over 50,000 students in north central Kentucky.   Established in 1976, the cooperative provides a vehicle for conducting regional planning, development, and implementation of educational programs on a continuing basis. OVEC offers programs that serve member school districts, their student populations and families

River Region Cooperative
Lesa Hibbs, Director
3520 New Hartford Road, Suite 403
Owensboro, KY  42303
Phon: (270) 686-3995
The River Region Cooperative is an educational cooperative that serves the school districts of:  Breckinridge County, Cloverport Independent, Daviess County, Elizabethtown Independent, Hancock County, Grayson County, Hardin County, Larue County, McLean County, Meade County, Ohio County, Owensboro Independent, and West Point Independent

Upper Cumberland Special Education Cooperative
Ginger Brashear, Director
116 N. Fourth Street
Williamsburg, KY  40769
Phone: (606) 549-7001
Upper Cumberland Special Education Cooperative provides services to member districts in support of their efforts to implement the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA 2004) in order to maximize educational outcomes for individuals with disabilities.  Offers services to 17 school districts in a 10-county area in southeastern Kentucky. Services include personnel training on a variety of topics, consultation in many areas and other services as requested by our member school districts.

Wilderness Trail Special Education Cooperative
Belinda Bowling, Director
707 North Second Street
Richmond, KY  40475
Phone: (859) 625-6048
Wilderness Trail Educational Cooperative supports and is guided by the highly experienced directors of special education for the 16 member school districts



Was Your Child's CP Preventable?